How asking my customers for feedback increased the number of customer reviews

Kevin Lücke
2 min readJan 26, 2023

--

Photo by Towfiqu barbhuiya on Unsplash

As a business owner, collecting customer reviews and testimonials can be a real pain point. Asking for reviews can feel awkward, and it can be difficult to get the high-quality reviews that you need to grow your business.

I learned this the hard way. I found that customers were often more likely to give a 5-star rating, but were not willing to put in the effort to write a detailed review. Even when they did write a review, it was often poor in quality.

To overcome this challenge, I decided to try a different approach. Instead of asking for reviews, I started asking for feedback. I asked customers a series of questions, including:

What’s one thing you’d like me to start doing?

What’s one thing you’d like me to stop doing?

What’s one thing you’d like me to keep doing?

Please describe any reservations you had before we started working together.

Please explain how I was able to help you with one of your reservations.

What were 1–2 of your top goals before we began?

What are your top achievements thus far?

Is there anything else you’d like to add?

By asking these questions, I was able to get more detailed and specific information from my customers, which I could then use to create high-quality reviews. And, to my surprise, I was able to increase the number of reviews I received within just a few weeks.

To make the process even easier, I decided to automate it. I started a small B2B service called 5stars2review.com which helps businesses automate the process of collecting customer feedback and turning it into high-quality reviews.

Overall, I’ve learned that asking for feedback instead of reviews can be a more effective way to get high-quality customer reviews. And by automating the process, it becomes much easier for both the customer and the business. If you’re struggling to get customer reviews, I highly recommend trying this approach and see the difference it can make for your business.

--

--

Kevin Lücke

It’s my passion to build and empower cross functional product teams in order to solve customer problems. I believe in servant leadership where coaching is key.